Who we are

The Manx Museum and National Trust was originally set up in the 19th century by the Isle of Man’s Parliament, Tynwald, to look after the Islands archaeological sites. The organisation is supported by the Isle of Man Government and Trustees are appointed by Tynwald.

On a day to day basis the Trust operates at ‘arms length’ from Government. It is a Manx Registered Charity but is partly financially supported by Government because it has a range of statutory functions and contributes to Government objectives for the culture and heritage of the Island. Trustees are appointed by Tynwald.

There are up to 11 Trustees who serve five year terms. These are unpaid public appointments. Trustees set the overall direction of the organisation and are accountable to the Manx Community for its performance and effectiveness. As Charity Trustees they also manage donations and bequests to the organisation.

The day to day operations of the Trust are carried out by a team of professional staff. Our team are public servants, employed by the Isle of Man Government, with some appointments funded by our Friends and charitable Trust. We also benefit from economies of scale through access to Government systems and contracts such as insurance, computing and telecommunications.

Increasingly the Trust also benefits from the support of a large team of volunteers and supporters.


  • Are supported by the Isle of Man Government who provide about 75% of the funding for our core activities and some of our capital projects


  • Generate over £1m per year through trading and other commercial activity


  • Are a Charitable Trust, Manx registered charity no 603 existing by statute as the Manx Museum & National Trust


  • Governed by a Board of Trustees who contribute to our work through their expertise and experience

Our Executive Team

Mr Edmund Southworth, Director

Mrs Gaynor Haxby, Head of Public Services

Mr Gary Lark, Head of Corporate Services

Miss Kirsty Neate, Head of Professional Services

Mr Steve Blackford, Head of Properties

Our Trustees

Mr Jonathan Hall, Chairman

Mr Malcolm Kelly, Vice-Chairman

Mr Rob Callister MHK, Trustee

Mrs Joan Conway, Trustee

Mr Phil Gawne, Trustee

Dr Catriona Mackie, Trustee

Mr Dave Martin, Trustee

Mr Mark Shimmin, Trustee

Mrs Jennie Thompson, Trustee

Mr John Watt, Trustee

Ms Eva Wisemark, Trustee


Back to top