Mona’s Isle – The legacy of Mona Douglas CD & DVD


Mona’s Isle CD & DVD

The legacy of Mona Douglas

CD: 11 tracks, run time: 33mins 05

  • £12.99
  • SKU: 1002888
  • Dimensions: 14 × 12.5 cm
  • Availability: Out of stock

Out of stock

Additional information

Mona’s Isle: The legacy of Mona Douglas CD & DVD

A musical celebration of the life of one of the Isle of Man’s most important cultural icons, Mona Douglas.

Inspired by the folklore collection, music, poetry and life of Mona Douglas RBV (1898 – 1987), this collection of new songs was created by a group of Manx musicians who all had some connection to Mona. The songs of ‘Mona’s Isle’ are in Manx and English and vary from traditional to modern in style – some are new settings of her poems, or re-workings of traditional melodies that she had collected in the early 20th century, whilst others are original songs which explore Mona’s fascinating life and philosophy.


CD Track Listing:

  1. Snaih
  2. Fabulous City
  3. Revolt
  4. Anticipation
  5. The Garden
  6. Thie ny Garee
  7. Kiaulliaght Kiune
  8. Dub ny h’Ollagh
  9. Arrane ny Niee
  10. Drillinyn
  11. Winds of Summer

DVD Listing:

  1. Introduction
  2. Paul Bradford and Clare Kilgallon
  3. Cliogaree Twooie
  4. Charles Guard and Annie Kissack
  5. John Kilgallon and Rachel Clarkson
  6. Caarjyn Cooidjagh
  7. Combined Choirs
  8. The Mona Douglas Project
Back to top