Ímar – Afterlight CD


Afterlight CD

by Ímar

10 tracks, run time 39 mins 42

  • £12.00
  • SKU: 1005273
  • Dimensions: 14 × 12.5 cm
  • Availability: In Stock

In Stock

View Basket

Additional information

Ímar – Afterlight CD

With a line-up featuring members of Mànran, RURA, Talisk and Barrule, and a heavyweight collective haul of top prizes (including the 2016 BBC Radio Scotland Young Traditional Musician of the Year, a BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award, nine All-Ireland and eight All-Britain titles) the group’s formation embodies a personal reconnection with its members’ formative years, dating back long before their recent camaraderie around Glasgow’s justly celebrated session scene.

Adam Brown (bodhrán), Adam Rhodes (bouzouki), Mohsen Amini (concertina), Ryan Murphy (uilleann pipes) and Tomás Callister (fiddle) share a strong background in Irish music – although only Murphy actually hails from Ireland; Rhodes and Callister are from the Isle of Man, whilst Amini is a Glasgow native, and Brown originally from Suffolk – and it is these foundations which underpin many of Ímar’s distinctive qualities, in both instrumentation and material. Ímar’s unmistakable synergy, however, centres on the overlapping cultural heritage between Scotland, Ireland and the Isle of Man. All three places once shared the same Gaelic language, and a similar, clearly potent, kinship endures between their musical traditions.


Track Listing:

  1. Into The Light
  2. I’Air Mignonne
  3. The Speckled Heifer
  4. The Ashbury Slides
  5. The Firebird
  6. Happy Clappy
  7. The Full Orkney
  8. Manx Plates
  9. Friendship
  10. The Mar
Back to top