‘Old’ Nobles Hospital

The second site of Noble's Hospital, this was opened in 1912 and served the whole island for most of the twentieth century.

By the turn of the century, the original Noble’s hospital building was considered too small and insufficiently equipped for the rapidly rising patient numbers. HB Noble had died, but his trustees agreed to fund the building of a new hospital on Westmoreland Road.

The second site, eventually known as ‘Old Noble’s’, served Douglas until 1996, when new premises were opened some way out of the town, at Strang.

This 1955 ordnance survey map shows the location and size of Noble’s on Westmoreland Road. The location of White Hoe Fever Hospital can also be seen in the bottom left corner.

Explore 'Old Noble's' with the sources below

Back to top